skip to Main Content

India Jails Three Kashmiri Civilians Under the Public Safety Act

On 24th June, India jailed three Kashmiri civilians under the lawless Public Safety Act after labeling them as supporters of Kashmiri pro self-determination groups. The police spokesman identified the three civilians as Umer Ahmad Ganaie, Aftab Hussain Dar, and Hilal Ahmad Khan.

While India accuses them of supporting “militancy”, it is interesting to note that they have not been charged with anything, but simply placed under preventive arbitrary detention using PSA, which allows detention up to two years without trial.

Back To Top